Seinfeld

SEINFELD BLOG

Seinfeld DVD Complete Series Box Set

Seinfeld Script Search:

The Picks: Which Movies to Watch on TV This Weekend

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 Next
Author Message
Bookman







PostPosted: June 8, 2006 4:23 PM 

Bookman Author Profile Page
Condo Board President

Posts: 2988

Reply: 1



PostPosted: June 8, 2006 4:30 PM 

I'm watching (or, more likely, TiVo-ing) "The Last Seduction" on IFC at 11pm EDT/8pm PDT tonight. This is the movie that caused HBO to start putting its good movies in limited release in theaters, so they'd be eligible for Academy Award consideration. Even the "Sack Lunch" crowd will like it.

Bookman Author Profile Page
Condo Board President

Posts: 2988

Reply: 2



PostPosted: June 8, 2006 4:45 PM 

I forgot to add..........

"My Dinner with Andre" on FLIX, Sat at 5:15am EDT & PDT. This wouldn't be a "Gene" pick. Two guys talking for 110 minutes. You gotta love dialogue to dig this movie.

"Matewan" on IFC, Sat. at 12:30 pm EDT/9:30 am PDT. Very-good, bleeding-heart liberal, pro-labor movie.

"Sunset Boulevard" on TCM, Sat at 8pm EDT/5 pm PST. It's worth seeing again. Maybe this time William Holden won't get shot in the back in the opening scene.

Jimmy


Posts: 5505

Reply: 3



PostPosted: June 8, 2006 6:00 PM 

I'll give "The Last Seduction" a try. I just love movies about Christ.

Bookman Author Profile Page
Condo Board President

Posts: 2988

Reply: 4



PostPosted: June 8, 2006 6:16 PM 

It's dark and disturbed. It's got it all.

Jimmy


Posts: 5505

Reply: 5



PostPosted: June 8, 2006 10:48 PM 

I'm not even gonna rewind it.

Bookman Author Profile Page
Condo Board President

Posts: 2988

Reply: 6



PostPosted: June 14, 2006 12:29 PM 

OK, here we go. Lots of movies this weekend to choose from. Set your TiVo....

"The 39 Steps" on TCM Fri., 3pm EDT/12 noon PDT. An Alfred Hitchcock classic from the 1930s.

"The Thin Man" on TCM Sat., 8pm EDT/5pm PDT & Sun., 6pm EDT/3pm PDT. Also from the 1930s. Sure you've heard of it, but have you seen it? Great dialogue, funny whodunnit.

"The Gold Rush" on TCM Sun., 12 midnight EDT/9pm PDT. A silent-movie classic. One of my favorite Charlie Chaplin movies.

"Five Easy Pieces" on FLIX Fri., 5pm EDT &PDT. First installment in the creation of the Jack Nicholson movie persona.


For the more adventurous...

"The Rules of the Game" on TCM Sat., 2am EDT (Fri., 11pm PDT). French w/English subtitles. From the 1930s. By Jean Renoir, son of the famous French Impressionist painter. I haven't seen this one yet. Many critics, incl. Roger Ebert, consider this one of the top 10 movies ever made.

"Grand Illusion" on TCM Sat., 4am EDT/1am PDT. Also from the 1930s, also French w/English subs., also Renoir. I have seen this one. One of my top 10-15 movies. A film, is what it is.

J. Chiles


Posts: 5139

Reply: 7



PostPosted: June 14, 2006 4:12 PM 

How about "Frech Air". It's showing rain or shine, in all locations, outdoors.

J. Chiles


Posts: 5139

Reply: 8



PostPosted: June 14, 2006 4:13 PM 

Or FRESH air, as opposed to frech or french air. Wink

Bookman Author Profile Page
Condo Board President

Posts: 2988

Reply: 9



PostPosted: June 14, 2006 7:59 PM 

You mean you don't need to see a movie, you just stick your head out the window?

J. Chiles


Posts: 5139

Reply: 10



PostPosted: June 14, 2006 11:12 PM 

That's how I check the weather, too! Wink

donna chang
Assistant to the Traveling Secretary

Posts: 145

Reply: 11



PostPosted: June 15, 2006 6:45 AM 

Outside? There's nothing for me out there. Weather doesn't do it for me

Jimmy


Posts: 5505

Reply: 12



PostPosted: June 15, 2006 5:41 PM 

(laughs) Yeah, wait till we get on the Expressway.

Gendison
Bad Breaker Upper

Posts: 3306

Reply: 13



PostPosted: June 17, 2006 12:45 PM 

Hey look...There's Barabara Mandrell's bycicle.

Bookman Author Profile Page
Condo Board President

Posts: 2988

Reply: 14



PostPosted: June 17, 2006 1:20 PM 

I always wanted to drive the big rigs. I used to watch those commercials during the reruns of Gomer Pyle.

donna chang
Assistant to the Traveling Secretary

Posts: 145

Reply: 15



PostPosted: June 18, 2006 3:08 AM 

You got Major Dad, very funny program. Blossom...

Jimmy


Posts: 5505

Reply: 16



PostPosted: June 18, 2006 4:16 PM 

What is TiVo?

Do I need to spend the entire weekend with a manual? Are there hidden charges? Do I need a giant SETI dinner plate on my roof? Is it one of those things where you have to know someone with it to explain it to you while another person explains the explanation? Would I have to get TiVo friends?

Nah, I'm not ready for it...

J. Chiles


Posts: 5139

Reply: 17



PostPosted: June 18, 2006 10:41 PM 

You need a former Soviet who dabbles in subway tokens

Jimmy


Posts: 5505

Reply: 18



PostPosted: June 19, 2006 12:57 AM 

(Jimmy drops TiVo box on floor) I can't get it open...

Bookman Author Profile Page
Condo Board President

Posts: 2988

Reply: 19



PostPosted: June 19, 2006 12:59 PM 

You should return it. That box is subpar.

J. Chiles


Posts: 5139

Reply: 20



PostPosted: June 19, 2006 2:13 PM 

He looks like an otter breaking open a clam....

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 Next

Join the discussion:
















Very Happy Smile Sad Surprised
Shocked Confused Cool Laughing
Mad Razz Embarassed Crying or Very Sad
Evil or Very Mad Twisted Evil Rolling Eyes Wink
Powered by MTSmileys








Copyright ©2003, Mark Carey.